Abidjan, Ivory Coast » City Info » Visa Requirements

Visa Requirements for Entry into Ivory Coast / Côte d'Ivoire

  • The Ivoirian government expects U.S. citizens to have a valid visa for entry into Cô te d' Ivoire, along with a passport with more than six months of remaining validity and one blank page for entry stamp.
  • A new e-visa system was launched in February 2014. While these e-visas are now available at the airport upon arrival, they must be applied online prior to arrival in Cô te d’ Ivoire. Visit http://www.snedai.com/fr/ for more information.
  • Besides visa and passport requirements, an international health certificate showing current yellow fever immunization is required for entry into Cô te d’ Ivoire.
  • If the traveller fails to submit proof of yellow fever immunization, he/she may be required to submit to vaccination at entry before clearing immigration, at a cost of 7,000 CFA (approximately 14 USD).
  • Warnings: Travellers are warned not to entertain individuals who offer to expedite passport control and customs, and then ask to pay an exorbitant fee, both for the service and for the passport and customs officers. There is no need to pay a police officer or customs officer for any service rendered during arrival or departure and not to submit passports or essential documents to anyone except identifiable government officials in uniform.
  • Tourists travelling to any other non-WAEMU (West African Economic and Monetary Union) country are forbidden from taking more than 500,000 CFA francs (approximately $1,000) and business operators are prohibited from taking more than 2,000,000 CFA francs (approximately $4,000) without government approval. WAEMU (also known by its French acronym, UEMOA) stands for West African Economic and Monetary Union and its members include Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d' Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo.

Nationals of the following countries, diplomatic passport holder of official service or not subject to the visa requirement:

South Africa, Austria, Brazil, Gabon, Israel, Iran, Uganda

Nationals of the following holders of ordinary and official passports countries are not subject to the visa requirement:

Member Countries of ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States; French: Communauté économique des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest, CEDEAO) & Other Countries

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Central Republic of Congo (Brazzaville), Morocco, Mauritania, Seychelles Islands, Singapore, Chad, Tunisia, Philippines

Nationals of the following holders of ordinary and official passports countries subject to the obligation of visa issued by the Diplomatic Representatives and Consular Côte d'Ivoire abroad, without prior consultation:

South Africa (ordinary passport), Germany, Algeria, Andorra, Austria (ordinary passport), Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bosnia, Botswana, Brazil, (ordinary passport), Brunel, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cayman (Islands), Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Comoros (Island), South Korea, Costa Rica, Macao, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius (Island), Mexico, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Monaco, Mozambique, Outer Mongolia, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Uganda (ordinary passport), Uzbekistan, Panama, Papua, Paraguay, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico, Portugal, Croatia, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominique (Republic), Ecuador, United Arab Emirates, Spain, Estonia, United States of America, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon (ordinary passport), Georgia, Greece, Grenade, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Israel (ordinary passport), Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Lesotho, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Yugoslavia, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Czech Republic, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Qatar, Romania, United, Kingdom of Great Britain, Russia (Federation), St. Kits and Nevis, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Saint Vincent, Solomon (Islands), Salvador, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Suede, Switzerland, Suriname, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Taiwan, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela

Travelers may obtain the latest information and details on entry requirements from:

Cocody Riviera Golf,
01 BP 1712 Abidjan 01
Côte d’Ivoire
Telephone: +(225) 22-49-40-00
Emergency After-HoursTelephone: +(225) 22-49-44-50
Fax: +(225) 22-49-42-02
Email: AbjAmcit@state.gov

If you are currently overseas, you should inquire at the nearest Ivoirian embassy or consulate.

Please note: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information